What is a good laptop for VIVE?

dredle1
Contributor

What is a good laptop for VIVE?

Hello all!

I am new to this so I apologize for my ignorance.  My son has been wanting an HTC VIVE for awhile now, so guess what Santa is bringing for Christmas this year.  He will need a new laptop for this as well which is where the abundance of information out there is causing my brain to shut down.  While at the Mall of America, the microsoft store had a VIVE setup and my son got to try it out.  I asked the store associate what laptop I should get, and he replied, "Alienware."  Personally, I do not have a preference in which laptop, just one that isn't going to cost me an arm and a leg.  So I guess I also need advice on what specs are the most important.  Nividia 1060, 1070 or 1080?  I know I would like a 17" screen, so QHD or UHD?  I also want a PCIe ssd with a SATA as well, but how much storage is enough?  My budget is anywhere from $2000 - $3200, because I want this laptop to last for awhile, at minimum 5 years.  I do not want to have to replace it after 2 years, so I'm willing to spend a little more upfront, if it's worth it.  So, if anyone would be so kind as to help me narrow my choices down and give me some solid info in what to look for, I would really appreciate it!  Thanks in advance!

Vive Staff

Re: What is a good laptop for VIVE?

@dredle1

Hi! Thanks for posting here with your question. In short, I'd refer you to our Vive Ready page which lists system requirements as well as links to Vive Ready PCs and Laptops (including Alienware!)
https://www.vive.com/us/ready/

If you're still curious after pouring over that or if you have more questions, we'd be happy to answer them.

Thank you!

-John C

"Welcome to the desert of the real."
dredle1
Contributor